1/2 and 1/2

Baby Bear explained our latest trip perfectly: It was half good and half Not-so-good. Let me bring you up to speed…

Scene: Cliffs of the Neuse. Seven Springs, NC
Condition: Hottest day EVER.

I will start with the ‘not-so-good’ half, because I’d like to end on a good note.

I was prepared for the Summer adventuring: Water, sunscreen, hats, sunglasses.

What I was not prepared for was the overwhelming amount of ANTS. Not just in one location, or one portion of the trail, but literally EVERYWHERE. We could not even stop moving, or ants would be crawling all over us in a matter of seconds. And these were not tiny ants, either. They were the giant ones.
Eventually, I had to take off Tiny Bear’s shoes and put her on my shoulders, because ants were stuck IN her shoes.
The ants were also over-taking a small green snake that apparently did not make it across the path quick enough.

This was definitely too much nature for me.

And I wish I could say that was the only irritation of the day. But it wasn’t. The (unmarked) trail I thought I had found, was actually just a walk to the lake. It also happened to be the only area of the park where ANYA, our dog, was not allowed to be. When the Park Person alerted me to my mistake, I was rather irritated to find that my only choices were keep going to the trails that were underwater or 2) to go back the way we came where Anya was not allowed to be or 3) to walk through a parking lot.

I chose all of the above so we could just GET TO THE CAR!
At this point-ants are still swarming and I was beyond agitated.

When we got back to the car and finally started to leave the Park, I realized where I had gone wrong. Instead of stopping at the Visitor’s Center, we should have just gone to the actual “Cliffs.” Apparently that’s where the good (and probably dog-friendly) trails were.

Everyone was hot. But, I figured since we had come this far, we should at least see the Park’s name-sake-the “Cliffs.” Unfortunately, in the 30 seconds we were out of the car, Anya’s doggy anxiety got the best of her. I returned to find vomit on the driver’s floor. (Thank goodness for floor-mats!) Also unfortunate? Due to the heat and the exhaustion, the bears could care less about the Cliffs.

Now to the good half: I totally worked up an amazing sweat in all this mess. Also, Auntie N and her bears joined us for the work-out.

And the part of the trip that indicates this blog and our adventures may soon become solely Food-centered?

Everyone’s favorite part of the day was our stop at the “Sof-T-Shop” on the Newton Grove Circle. The menu varied from tasty treats to Barbecue and even Seafood. We ordered their advertised cherry-dipped cones for $1.75.
Moments later, we were all covered in melty, yummy goodness.

Needless to say, it was a happy drive home.

Papa Bear said this would probably one of those trips we would look back and laugh about later.

I suppose torture is much more laughable in retrospect.

Leave a Reply

